Federally Qualified Health Centers



Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHCs) were established, in part, to provide accessible, continuous, coordinated, and comprehensive patient-centered care. 

As an FQHC, Regional Primary Care Network takes a proactive approach to ensure positive results for the most vulnerable, underserved and uninsured populations by providing primary care services and engaging in outreach, disease prevention, and patient education and self-care management activities in urban and rural communities.

FQHCs provide access to comprehensive primary health care services:

  • Family medicine
  • Pediatrics
  • Family planning, prenatal, and post-partum care
  • Dental
  • Laboratory
  • Behavioral/mental health
  • Substance abuse

FQHCs are different from other health care providers; they offer:

  • Case Management
  • Patient Education
  • Translation/Interpretation
  • Community Education

FQHCs are a great benefit to the communities they serve because they:

  • Improve public health
  • Provide needed services such as free immunizations for uninsured children
  • Reduce the burden on hospital emergency rooms
  • Act as a community voice for health care needs through the Board of Directors
  • Offer broader health insurance coverage, such as offering a sliding scale fee structure based on an individual’s or family’s income
  • Assist uninsured patients with enrollment in Medicaid, CHIP, and other assistance programs